top of page

A Feminist Book Recommendation List


How To Be A Woman – Caitlin Moran

Caitlin Moran is a goddess, and this book is like a feminist Bible to me.

I have mentioned this book previously on my blog site, but I want to recommend it again.

Caitlin Moran has such an awesome, refreshing and real take on the world and this book covers so many aspects of life. Love, sex, work, babies, periods, abortions, masturbation… You name it, Caitlin Moran is likely to have written something witty yet profound about it.

And yes the title is How To Be A Woman, but I think it’s a must read regardless of gender.


Girl, Woman, Other – Bernardine Evaristo

This book follows the intertwining stories of twelve incredible women each of whom tackle issues of race, sexism and prejudice among other things. Sometimes I don’t really get on with books with lots of narrators because I feel it doesn’t allow the reader to get as invested in the story, however I thought this book worked beautifully. The characters are all very different in terms of their views and experiences and yet I felt so drawn to them and their incredible stories.

Particularly in a time where the Black Lives Matter movement is so prominent, I think this book is extremely relevant.



Feminists don’t wear Pink and other lies – Scarlett Curtis

Fifty-two women, including Kiera Knightly, Jodie Whittaker, Zoe Sugg, Saoirse Ronan discuss, to quote the cover, what the F word means to them.

This book was one of the first I read that was actively talking about women’s individual experiences with and about feminism and it really opened up my eyes. I feel like I’ve always had a nonfiction feminist book on the go since I read it.

Scarlett Curtis has curated a fantastically diverse set of stories that range from discussing female masturbation, to running a business as a woman, sexism within the film industry and day to day issues in relationships.

This is an absolute must read.


Beauty Reimagined - Stylist Magazine

A very short book where eleven women comprising Jess Glynne, Caitlin Moran, Charli Howard and others discuss how they have tackled and continue to tackle societies expectations on women and beauty. Having the courage to remind oneself that our beauty is not defined by the size of our waist, or our hair, or our skin is so important to me. I also love that this book brings up the issues of beauty and ageing.



Women and Power - Mary Beard

This book, though short, goes into the deep rooted history of women and their lack of power. Women have been dismissed, undervalued and thought to be lesser than men for thousands of years. Which is why feminism is still so important today. Our ability to vote doesn’t balance out thousands of years of oppression. Hate to admit it. Mary Beard has an intellectual conversation about the female relationship with power using both historic and modern political figures as references.



Invisible Women - Caroline Criado-Perez

Wow. This book. Oh my gosh.

I’m still in the process of finishing it, because its quite science and statistics based which can sometimes be more effort to follow when I’m reading just before I go to bed, but what an eye opener it is!

It explains gender bias and the fact that we live in a world where men are the default and women make up the ‘other’.

I have found this book so unbelievably fascinating and educational. I definitely think everyone should get themselves a copy.



I also want to cheekily suggest (because I haven't read either of them yet), 'Women Don't Owe you Pretty' by Florence Given and 'Girl Up' by Laura Bates.

I will be reading them next!

Comments


bottom of page